Changes in Volkswagen brand Board of Management

1 min read

The FINANCIAL — The Volkswagen brand is strengthening the area of e-mobility and creating a separate Board of Management division for e-mobility.

With effect from February 1, 2018, responsibility for the division, which includes the e-mobility series and production of vehicles on the new MEB platform at the future e-mobility plants of the Volkswagen brand throughout the world, is to be assumed by Thomas Ulbrich, previously Board of Management Member of the Volkswagen brand responsible for Production and Logistics. Ulbrich is to be succeeded, also with effect from February 2018, as Board Member for Production by Dr. Andreas Tostmann, previously Executive Vice-President for Production of the SEAT brand, according to Volkswagen.

Thomas Ulbrich (51) holds a degree in automotive engineering and has worked for the Volkswagen Group since 1989. In 1996, he became Head of Logistics at FAW-Volkswagen in China. Following further positions in Wolfsburg and Emden, he became Technical Managing Director and Speaker of the Management Board of Auto 5000 in Wolfsburg in 2001. In 2008, he was appointed Board of Management member responsible for Production at Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles and, in 2010, Technical Executive Vice President of Shanghai-Volkswagen in China. Since April 2014, he has been Board of Management Member of the Volkswagen brand responsible for Production and Logistics. In future, the newly created e-mobility division will be responsible for all Volkswagen electric Page 2 of 2No. 4/2018vehicles and for the development of Europe’s largest competence center for electric vehicles in Zwickau.

Dr. Andreas Tostmann (55) holds a degree in industrial engineering and has worked for Volkswagen since 1990. Following various responsible functions, including positions in Mexico, he assumed responsibility for technical project planning and powertrain project management within the Group in 1995. He was appointed plant manager at Salzgitter in 2001. In 2004, he became Managing Director of Volkswagen South Africa; from 2007, he was Chairman of the Board of Volkswagen Slovakia, where he was also responsible for production. He has been Executive Vice-President for Production of SEAT since December 2011.


Leave a Reply