Teva Enhances Board of Directors as All Proposals Approved at Annual General Meeting of Shareholders

5 mins read

The FINANCIAL — Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. announced that all proposals were approved at its Annual General Meeting of Shareholders held earlier on July 13.

Shareholders voted to approve the elections of Murray Goldberg, Roberto Mignone, Dr. Perry Nisen and Nechemia (Chemi) Peres to the Company’s Board of Directors.

“We greatly appreciate the support of Teva’s shareholders as we work to strengthen the leadership of Teva, with the addition of these distinguished Board members, and our ongoing search to find the best chief executive officer to lead Teva,” stated Dr. Sol Barer, Chairman of the Board. “We continue to make changes to enhance our Board of Directors; address matters that are important to our shareholders, and continue to look for opportunities to make a difference to patients and healthcare systems around the world.”

Dr. Barer continued, “We are pleased to have added these world class directors to our Board from both Israel and around the world. Teva has become a global company by putting innovation front and center and never shying away from change. Teva’s new directors share our conviction that innovation is at the heart of Teva’s strategy and of all our businesses – a conviction with clear roots in Israel. The primary task for our new leadership, which will include a new CEO, will be to best position Teva to handle today’s challenges and prepare the Company for the emerging pharma landscape. I would like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing directors, Ory Slonim and Roger Abravanel, who are leaving us today, and Yossi Nitzani, who is leaving in September, for their wisdom and dedication to Teva.”

Four New Independent Directors Join the Teva Board

Murray Goldberg, the former Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President of Administration of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, who brings extensive financial and operational experience at leading global pharmaceutical companies.

Roberto Mignone, the founder and managing partner of Bridger Management LLC, where he oversees the management of approximately $1 billion invested in publicly traded healthcare companies.

Dr. Perry Nisen, who brings two decades of experience in a variety of senior roles in pharmaceutical research and development at non-profits and global pharmaceutical companies like GlaxoSmithKline and Abbott Laboratories and is currently the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Executive Chair of Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute.

Chemi Peres, the managing general partner and co-founder of Pitango Venture Capital, who oversees a diverse investment portfolio spanning health care to IT.

Results from the 2017 Annual Meeting of Shareholders

All proposals were approved by the required majority of shareholders, by the following percentages of shares voting:

Appointment of Dr. Sol J. Barer as director – 92%

Appointment of Mr. Jean-Michel Halfon as director – 90%

Appointment of Mr. Murray A. Goldberg as director – 96%

Appointment of Mr. Nechemia (Chemi) J. Peres as director – 96%

Appointment of Mr. Roberto Mignone as director – 96%

Appointment of Dr. Perry D. Nisen as director – 96%

Approval of the compensation of Dr. Sol J. Barer as Chairman of the Board of Directors – 92%

Approval of the terms of office and employment of Dr. Yitzhak Peterburg as Interim President and Chief Executive Officer – 87%

Approval of a membership fee for directors serving on special or ad-hoc committees – 91%

Amendment to the 2015 Long-Term Equity-Based Incentive Plan to increase the number of shares available for issuance thereunder – 87%

Approval of Teva’s 2017 Executive Incentive Compensation Plan – 91%

Reduce Teva’s registered share capital to NIS 249,434,338, by canceling 424,247 Ordinary “A” Shares, par value NIS 0.1 per share and 5,232,377 ordinary shares, par value NIS 0.1 per share and to make corresponding amendments to Teva’s Memorandum of Association and Articles of Association – 98%

Appointment of independent auditors – 99%


Leave a Reply