The Danish, Polish and Swedish Foreign Ministers’ joint visit to Georgia

The Danish, Polish and Swedish Foreign Ministers’ joint visit to Georgia

The FINANCIAL -- On 14 April 2015, Danish, Polish and Swedish Foreign Ministers Martin Lidegaard, Grzegorz Schetyna and Margot Wallström, respectively, made a joint visit to Georgia and were hosted by their Georgian counterpart Tamar Beruchashvili.

The joint visit of the Foreign Ministers of the EU Member States is considered to be a demonstration of solidarity for Georgia, especially, in the view of the upcoming Riga Summit in May, according to MFA Georgia.

Tamar Beruchashvili highly assessed the active relations established between Georgia, Denmark, Poland and Sweden in the trade, economic, cultural and educational spheres and thanked her colleagues for support of Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, the European and Euro-Atlantic aspirations, the readiness to participate in the implementation process of the Substantial NATO-Georgia Package and for assistance rendered within the co-operation programme in the sphere of education.

The Foreign Ministers of the EU Member States positively assessed reforms carried out by the Government of Georgia, progress Georgia has achieved in the Eastern Partnership format and expressed their gratitude for Georgia’s participation in NATO and the EU peacekeeping missions.

At the meeting the importance of the Eastern Partnership Riga Summit in May, expectations for the Summit and plans for the effective implementation of the Association Agreement and visa liberalisation were discussed.

Particular emphasis was put on the current situation in Georgia’s occupied territories and the signature of the so-called “treaties” between the Russian Federation and Sokhumi and Tskhinvali occupation regimes. Tamar Beruchashvili thanked the Foreign Ministers for condemning the so-called “treaties” by their governments.

The meeting was followed by a joint press conference.

Tamar Beruchashvili and Grzegorz Schetyna signed a Memorandum on establishing the Tbilisi Conference – a completely new format of co-operation.  The Memorandum provides for enhancing Poland’s role in implementation of Georgia’s European and Euro-Atlantic aspirations, as well as for sharing Poland’s experience and expert knowledge.

The Danish, Polish and Swedish Foreign Ministers also met Georgian President Giorgi Margvelashvili, Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili and Speaker of the Parliament David Usupashvili.